Asics Pulse or Cumulus. Scarborough hills, flats, pavements, trails

Hiya, "they slit me gilet" had double hernia open surgery this week so bed ridden and cant bear to be indoors longer than two hours and am itching to run.

I have been using Asics Cumulus for the last ten years and I love them. Hiting the 40 age mark im more interested in protecting knees with softness for frequent long runs that being the fastest. In the last year ive done 1000 miles in 8 months and was trying to hit 1500 in 12 months Mar 16 to Mar 17 but operation has knocked out 3 weeks left with 150 miles to go, which is a gutter, but can see soft trainers are more my thing,

I change trainers every 600 miles or thereabouts butnt seeing discounts from usual sellers for Cumulus, have always paid £55 to £65, but now they seem to be around £100 everywhere.

Researching Pulse 8 they appear in print very similar and are priced £50 to £65 mark, has anybody had experience of them or can compare them to Cumulus?

Any feedback info would be appreciated as I can order some now ready for getting back in training after op recovery and for York Marathon.

Im in Scarborough where terrain is vastly varied with hills, flats, smooth and rough terrain. Did try brooks ghost once and didnt like them, very much asics gel cushioning fan.

Many thanks

Ben

BTW: Hernias were caused by foolishness not running, so dont let hernia fears put you off running

Comments

• Surprised you didnt get away with the Ghost the latest edition is a great shoe, the Pulse is a reasonable shoe , but not a cummulus, but if you can pick it up really cheap they could be older models and the cushioning degenerates, Cumulus is a decent enough shoe , another equivalent to the Ghost/Cumulus / price point is the saucony ride which may give you a better plant on hilly hard surfaces , if the Cumulus works stick with that shoe