Bursitis.......I think

Hello All,

Looking for a bit of advice. I have been running for 2 years now and I am running anywhere between 15 & 25km per week which is spread over 3 runs.

I recently did the North London Half and got a PB of 2:05 yay.....anyway....following this I have noticed that when I hit 4/5km I start to get a dull ache right at the top of my leg but on the side.....A quick google suggests its Bursitis which is mainly caused by overuse.....

I generally ease off the pace a bit when i feel it and it very quickly goes.....almost immediately when I stop too it disappears...

Anyone experienced anything similar or have any tips on how to fix it?

Comments

• It's unlikely to be bursitis if it ease when you slow your pace and disappears soon after you've run. As you probably know bursitis is inflammation of the bursa so once it gets inflamed and you then irritate it by running on it you'd normally expect to make it more painful. Ice and rest are about all you can do for this. If it were me I'd see a physio who is into running. If it's a problem at such low mileage it's only likely to get worse if you want to increase your mileage again to run more half marathons.
    If you think you can or you think you can't you're probably right.
  • I had this - went to a physio and the problem was actually in my feet. They roll inwards and that was causing positioning problems all the way up my leg, in that the illobital band was stretched too tightly over my hip trochanter (under which the bursa sits), causing pain when they rubbed together i.e. when I took a step.

Not sure of your gender but it is more common in women due to tending to have wider hips over which the illobital band is stretched.

I got fitted for proper shoes supporting a high arch, and did some work over a few months to consciously use more of my foot when taking steps and not roll automatically inwards. Now I'm running three times a week and haven't felt a twinge in some time.