Half marathon fueling

I'm training for a half marathon. This is all new to me. I done 10mile last week and suddenly hit a wall and was exhausted. I went to the shop and had a can of pop and felt fine. Was thinking of taking gels with me on a run but I really don't want to take water out for my run. Do I have to have water for a run of this distance. Any advice on fuelling would be much appreciated. Thanks
Tagged:

Comments

• I'm really no expert at all but from what I've read it opinions all vary but most seem to say if you hydrate yourself well in the days before and on the day and running it at the two hour mark or quicker you should be fine.  I'm training and can run 8 mile and am fine but I do make sure I'm drinking plenty of water in the hours before I head out.

PS You say can of pop? Most canned drinks in the main are fizzy and don't rehydrate you I'd say?
  • Cal JonesCal Jones ✭✭✭
    Well it is getting warmer. I've done 13 mile runs with no water, but that's usually in winter.
    I'd get one of those belts with the bottles attached so it doesn't get in the way. Or, if you don't want to do that, plan a route that goes via a water fountain.
    You shouldn't really need gels for a half - your body generally has enough glycogen for a couple of hours. I usually only use them for marathon training runs where I'm going to be out for much longer. If you want to try, though, I've found the SiS gels are a bit more liquid than some of the other brands (I prefer the flavours of Torq gel but the SiS gels definitely go down easier and you don't need water with them).
  • +1 with Cal - no gels for a half.  A few sips of water maybe if its warm.

If you're running out of energy after 10 miles -are you eating or hydrating properly the rest of the time ? 
    Maybe running too fast ? 

You'll get used to it - i know i used to take water out a lot with me when I began but I didnt really need it. 
  • rodeofliprodeoflip ✭✭✭