Speed up slow coach

Give it a go AlexGive it a go Alex ✭✭✭
edited May 2017 in General running
So getting back into running and falling into a bit of a pattern of 3-4 runs per week. I am not too worried at the moment by my super slow running because I am just getting into the swing of things. started a few weeks back with a 2mile run and felt like a I was going to die then on Monday went on a comfortable 5mile run and think it was one of the first time I have enjoyed a run and not just wished for it to end. I am starting to get a little bit of achillies tendon pain so think I might need to ease back a little but anyway......

I was wondering what is the best way to improve pace?

I have heard things like mixing shorter faster runs with long slow runs can help but that is where my knowledge ends.

As I say I am not worried too much at the moment as only been running properly for around a month but would like to improve on my timings. My fastest run was a 1 mile run at 10:01/mile my LSR of 5 miles on Monday was at 12:09/mile

Comments

• TTTT ✭✭✭
    I found doing tempo and progression runs helped so much with my overall pace. Start realistically and mix it up every few runs. I found that once I knew I could run faster I started to run faster long runs.