Paris Marathon 2018

Comments

• 3PC03PC0 ✭✭
    Hello Mr K

Nimpy - medal positions dont have to be a time. High Fiving 26 children, dancing at every band stop, selfies with fancy dress runners. Finishing sounds good.
  • Convocation is available since yesterday on the ASO website if anyone has missed it !
  • jm94jm94 ✭✭
    Didn't imagine I'd ever run a marathon but I lost a bet, so here I am. One week to go and I'm quite looking forward to it. Before I started training I actually hated running, however, I've realised it's actually very therapeutic when you can mentally'switch off' after getting into your rhythm.

I had been hoping to run a sub 4-hour marathon but I haven't been training for the last 4/5 weeks after injuring my foot playing football. At that point, the most I'd ran was 13 miles (1hr 50) in training which was actually quite comfortable. I've been doing some light training this week - ran 5 miles to test my foot and went spinning. I'm going to go for a long run tomorrow (aiming to go 16 miles) to really test it, but it feels fine.

Not being able to train properly has made me want to do another. I'm not someone who likes doing things in half-arsed, so am considering signing up for the London Marathon in 2019.
  • PG3PG3 ✭✭✭
    thanks for the course description Pistol. 
  • OrbuttOrbutt ✭✭✭
    edited March 2018
    Hello All.
    I'm not running Paris this year but it holds a really special place in my heart, having made friends with loads of special runners.
    I just thought I'd pop in and wish everyone a great run in a marvellous city.
    3PCO - hello buddy, how's it going?

Dont forget to look around. One of our regulars actually missed the Eiffel Tower on a number of occasions. 
    Watch out for people crossing the course. I nearly ran into an elderly French lady by the Louvre who decided that she wanted to be on the other side of the road. There is even video footage of a woman weaving across runners, pushing a prom.