Running and menopause - experiences?

Hiya,

Haven't visited the RW forums for a while but I'm back here as I'd be really interested to hear other women's experience of running whilst going through menopause. There seems to be very little online, apart from advice to keep running or start exercising as it alleviates symptoms. I'm more concerned to know if other people have found their running has been affected?

i'm not particularly fast but I've been running regularly and consistently for 7 years or so. I've run quite a few halves and 3 sub-4 marathons and running's become an important part of my life.

I'm 52 now and am officially post-menopause (periods have stopped). I have symptoms of night sweats and aching joints, though not too severe or life impacting.

However in the last year or so I've got noticeably slower and have stopped enjoying running so much. I still run the same kind of mileage but often the first mile or two feel really hard. I can only think it's due to the menopause (or just getting older?); I had blood tests a while ago and don't have thyroid problems, diabetes or anything and I've always been pretty healthy.

Just wondered if other people have had similar (or different?) experiences? Also, is it likely to improve once my hormones settle down or is this it now?? I know a lot of women runners but most are younger than me or if older, started running after the menopause so haven't really got anyone to share experiences with.

:)

Comments

• What you've said about the speed loss rings a bell. I'm 50 and in perimenopause. Still get periods but they can go on for ages and are often very close together. :angry: Just started taking iron in case that's affected things. Don't get hot flushes or sweats unless it's actually hot, which it has been a few times this summer. However, I do get pretty warm at night just before dawn and am then unable to go back to sleep, so I'm averaging 5-6 hours sleep a night.