Options

Complete Beginner that needs some advice

Hi wonder if I can get some feed back. I am currently trying to get into a bit of running, I have spent the past 2 years doing the Virgin 100 day step challenge thing so I dont have an issue with vast amount of steps (yeah I know walking is completely different to running but bear with me) and have spent longer enjoying long medium to fast paced walks , now my weekend walks are hitting 10 miles plus but are taking me 3 hours to get round so I thought that I would like to run at least some of it (make the trips quicker at least) ...

I have tried the C25k repeatedly over the last 12-18 months and realistically all I could do was about a day of it .. No not because of the fitness levels .. I totally understand about coughing a lung up at the beggining but simply because I end up with bad pain in my shins to the point that even running for 30 seconds can be excrusiating ... I thought it was the way I ran (flat footed) but then I found some vids on YT that say flat footed is better than heel first. I have tried different shoes (softer and comfy, off road trail shoes or even a pair of New Balance). after some pointers I read else where they suggested that maybe you should start a little less than the C25K so I installed one of those tabata timer thngs on my phone and tried a 3 second on and 30 seconds off .. After setting the 30 second timer I have been able to get 3 days of 30 on 30 off and i thought something was moving but I went out for a quick run this afternoon and all the progress I had made was not there ... to say I was disheartened :S