Is this a good 8K time?

hi there

Am a 14 year old runner. I have been running for more than six months. Today I did my first long proper run for over two weeks. I usually do a 4 mile at the weekend, today I did a 5 mile. I did carry a backpack with water as well so it might have slowed me down. I did take this run at a slightly slower pace than I would with a 4 mile because there is a steep hill I have to run up. It took me between 42-44 minuets. I don't know the exact time because my app stopped tracking me for about a minuet and half so at the end of it it said 42 minuets but I reckon it was 44. Is this a good time for someone my age? I'm usually someone more concerned about the distance rather than the time, although I am really starting to find it hard to find a long route. I usually do a 1.5-2 mile run a day, with at least one 5K in the week. So is 42 minuets an okay time for someone my age? I am also looking at doing a 10K soon.
qwerty

Comments

• DustinDustin ✭✭✭
    Hi
    It's not an outstanding time but it's not bad either.
    I do question however why you are looking at distances at such an age.
    Most 10ks have an age restriction (usually 16+) and to be honest most U15 / U17 age group races are a maximum of 1500 or sometimes 3k.
    Cross Country is longer but again,seldom more than 5k.
    Have you thought about joining a club, or at the very least going along to see what they offer you? What about a park run? They are 5k and usually you get a few local club athletes there (running between 20-25 minutes) when you can perhaps ask them about their club(s).
  • Not really any in my area. I want a challenge and don't want to be sitting on the sofa all day on games like most people my age, and I want to join the police or be a firefighter when I'm 18 so I might as well start now. Thought about parkruns but then I do a 5K at least once a week