Hip Injury Correct Diagnosis?

Hi all, just looking for some second opinions here. I've started seeing a physio but I'm not convinced.

A couple of months ago I admit I may have over trained and I started getting a very achey hip after (not during) running. I had been running for 4 months pain free (while losing a lot of weight).
The pain was much worse after resting/sleeping then would die down while active. After a few days it would stop and I would go for a run, only for the problem to return again. The pain is lateral, right above the thigh bone and hurts when I poke in the gap there. It also hurts to bear weight on it, if I pop my hip out or try to raise my leg sideways.
I took 3 weeks rest but as soon as I went out, the pain was back afterwards! I tried just running through it and now it actually hurts while running too. So I've stopped running and I went to the GP. (I'm in the UK).
The GP had a quick look and thought it may be the ITB. He referred me physio to get more of an idea and some help.
So I've been to my first physio appointment. This doctor first checked my feet and noticed my arch was lower on the left - so that was it. He didn't examine my hip or feel for where the pain was coming from, he's just focused on strengthening my fallen arch which will in theory straighten me back up and solve my painful hip. He also stuck with the ITB pain explanation without even looking. I'm doing the exercises he gave me but I'm not happy.

I don't like to question, but I think I need a second opinion or I could end up out of action for months getting to the bottom of this. My fallen arch certainly is 'a' problem, but is it 'the' problem? How come I ran for 4 months pain free then all of a sudden my hip keeps flaring up? I'm sure the pain is right where the trochanteric bursa is, if I push downwards on that bone I jump off the floor. There is no pain in my knee at all.