Going from 26 minute 5k to sub 22

KATJHKATJH ✭✭✭
Hello everyone, I hope you are all doing well. There are some fast people on these boards so I was wondering if anybody could offer me some advice on how to get faster. I have questions. How long would it take to drop five minutes in the 5k? What should my training week look like and what workouts should I be doing? I’ve been running 40km per week for five years now and would like to get faster. My fastest 5k ever was 21:45 but I was younger then and I would like to beat my lifetime PR.

Comments

• Richard  2Richard 2 ✭✭✭
    Hi what does your training week look like?  do you do any sprinting? 

I would definitely try and find an athletics club, many clubs do tuesday and thursday evening speed/threshold sessions - a month or two of these and you'll get faster without doubt

park run is another option of course - do it regularly and attack it

what is your weight like?  dropping a bit of weight will affect your time, its often difficult but has a massive effect

otherwise build in a speed session or two to your weekly running, some form of interval high intensity and try and do this regularly

good luck
    Richard
  • KATJHKATJH ✭✭✭
    Hi richard. Yes I do speedwork, I am more of a natural sprinter (I can run 14.5 100m without much training) so speed isn’t an issue, endurance is the biggest issue for me. I regularly do 400 repeats at 1:40s and 800 repeats at 3:55 (1 minute rest in between the 400s/2 minutes rest inbetween the 800s) and have been doing speedwork for quite a few months but I don’t seem to be getting any faster which is frustrating.

Also, I am 5’2 and 125 lbs so I’m not sure how much weight comes into play at this point..
  • How many 400 or 800 repeats are you doing in a session?
  • KATJHKATJH ✭✭✭
    8-10 x 400
    6 x 800
  • KATJHKATJH ✭✭✭
    In fact I just did some 400 repeats today
    1:35
    1:41
    1:39
    1:42
    1:43
    1:43
    1:44
    1:38