Comrades 2019

Comments

• Mc HillyMc Hilly ✭✭✭
    Thomas, it’s good to have some days off! Looks as if apart from 2 days immediately after London you’ve run every day (and at a pace most of us couldn’t dream of!). I’m no expert, but I would think you need a proper rest and recovery after London, so have a break for a good few days give your body a proper chance to recover, and then just carried on as you planned ( but not trying to make up what you’ve “missed”) and you’ll smash Comrades:-)
  • Mc Hilly: thanks. Legs are still feeling a bit tired - was getting very slow during yesterday morning's club run. Hope they recover in time for NDW50!
    Max, do be careful with that groin strain. Rest a bit!
    Thomas, take the time you need to rest and recover. As the saying goes, 'better undertrained than overstrained'. As Becca says, an extended taper is a better bet than trying to do big miles in the couple of weeks before Comrades. Doing some much shorter fast runs closer to race day might be okay - but not until you've recovered from London.

• DannirrDannirr ✭✭✭
    @McHilly - not sure if any race offers a Rolls-Royce as a prize, but I'm happy to give you a ride n one whether you win or not!

• Dannirr: oh wow - that's  beautiful.
  • Becca7Becca7 ✭✭✭
    Very nice Dannirr, it's quite some collection you have.

Debra, forgot to say before that it's some great prep you've done for the NDW.  Hopefully, you have enough time to recover.  It should be a great race, from what I can remember of running bits of it it's a lovely path.

McH, well done on your Marlborough Downs race, that must have been a good confidence booster and good luck for Windermere.

Max I hope that injury heals well.