Options

Shin splints and weeks behind marathon training. Stressing like crazy!

Hello, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have done a marathon before, 4 years ago and I was 30 pounds lighter. I also had a better running base, although not overall fitness. I was pretty slow last time, just about 5 hours 5 mins (with a 10 minute break that I didn't need). I'd like to be 1 second under 5 hours if possible.

I started training just after christmas, as jumped to a 10 mile run, from 10k in October (with shin splints). I had only done a few 10ks and 5ks between then.

So I started the training plan a week or two late compared to last time (earlier marathon). I ran 10 miles and it felt ok. A week later I ran 12 miles. Still ok.

Then I started to develop shin splints. I tried running with them a few times. I tried an 8k, ran about 3k. I did a 10 mile run and they weren't too bad. Then I couldn't do parkrun, I had to walk.

The shin splints started as a general twisting pain in my shins, then developed into a very localised muscular pain when I did the 10 mile, then went back to sort of all over.

So I decided to rest as I realised they weren't going to get better running through them. This was 3 weeks ago. I carried on with other activities, which I have been doing since january, such as spinning, swimming, ballet, yoga, climbing, weights, abs. I am trying to get a better overall fitness and trying to limit the load bearing activities. I also cycle 4 miles everyday.

I went for a run on monday, 4 miles, and my shins were fine. I ran 1 mile yesterday and 2 miles today. MY calves were really tight, but not bad pain.

The problem is I have 53 days left until the marathon and I just don't know what to do. I am stressing about getting shin splints again by trying to do too much too soon, and I realise my running base isn't great. I ran 5k/10k, 10 miles, long run a week last time and that was fine to get me round.