tight calf muscles

I have been running for about three months and have really tight calves. Sometimes I have to stop repeatedly during a run to stretch them. I run about 30-40 mins, 3 times a week.

A search of the internet suggests that I have "posterior compartment syndrome" - a muscle growing too big for its sheath - which is apparently not uncommon for beginners.

But what do I do about it? I imagine that frequent massage is a good idea. And maybe exercising the other calf muscles (with standing calf raises) will help balance things out? I've recently also gotten some proper running shoes (I did have too-small crosstrainers), so that may help.

Is there anything else I can do to rid myself of this?

Comments

• I've got a similar problem. Ran for 2 miles on Sunday before the calf gave way.

Didn't run again until this morning. Less than a mile befor the pain started, slowed down to complete a 2 mile circuit.

Advice needed!!
  • I had the same problem last year when i started running. It meant i had to take longer rests in between runs, plenty of massage and ibuprofen gel.
    Its noticeably easier this year, i guess its another one of those ailments that just sort themselves out over time
  • stretching and strenghtening-
    also high heeled shoes to trainers will confuse them a bit!
  • Well it sounds like something that just takes a little time to settle down. I shall continue the stretching and massage routine. Thanks.
  • I will back Bune up on the heels to trainers thing, my calves have completely knotted up from wearing them for the past coule of weeks. In fact I only managed 25 mins last night before I have to hobble home. Feeling very sorry for myself and my new image transformation has taken a nose dive today!!!