Options

Cheap (Nutritious) Food please!

Comments

• Options
    My broad bean search wil continue at the weekend
  • Options
    might give it a try... but whats In the ball?? I do a lot of washing also.

Hipps
    what about trying to see if there are any allotments near you and some of the owners might grow and sell you some fresh??
  • Options
    laundry ball is good as long as you've no grease on your clothes. Gets rid of sweaty smells well, and chlorine from swimming gear.
    I really like bread and butter pud for a cheap recipe. Some super markets are cheap (ie. LIDL) They do superb ice creams!
    My youngest sis swears on being vegetarian for saving money on food. As she puts it, even the most expensive vegetable is cheaper than meat. (I still like being a carnivore though)
  • Options
    I don't mean to get up people's noses with this but - I'm a vegan Uni student & feed myself with plenty to share round for less than £12/week, using nothing more complicated than a Baby Belling mini-cooker (2 hobs & a shoebox oven between 8). Good standbys being rice cooked in tinned tomatoes, with lentils or beans (tinned kidney beans are about 12p & really easy) with whatever veg is going 1/2 price on the 'squashy' shelf at local grocery, & a few tablespoons peanut butter. Stick all in saucepan & boil till cooked. & for pud probably homemade scones & molasses (more minerals than jam), or malt loaf (24p / loaf for cheapy Kwiksave stuff). Porridge also brilliant (even better if made night before & left to soak), & can stick in loads of interesting stuff like sesame seeds, raisins, dates, nuts or whatever, & eat with molasses. Also get 'yesterday's bread' very cheaply, slice, freeze, & eat with peanut butter (old bread 20p, PB 60p/jar)