Ultra Marathon-Getting Started Advice

I'm a relative running novice with 4 Marathons (2 London, 1 New York, 1 Ottawa)under my belt with a couple of additional Marathons lined up.

I'm looking for a new challenge apart from trying to better my Marathon P.B.(3:56)and have decided through reading Runners World I would like to try running Ultra Marathons.

Does anybody have any advice about how to get started? I.E. What distance should one aim for at the begining? Any training advice? Any recomendations for events that a beginner should consider? Any advice would be gratefully recieved and appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• Ultras come in all shapes and sizes.... If you want to do a road run that is longer that the usual marathon then I think there are far better contributors to this forum than me to offer advise.

However, if you fancy doing a so called extreme ultra marathon - ie something like the Marathon des Sables or worse then you might like to have a look here if you look down the left hand side there is a link to a beginners guide. Treat this as a starter and I am certain a lot wiser people will be along shortly.
  • Well at the moment I just looking to extend beyond standard marathon distance.

The Marathon Des Sables is something that interests me but I think it's something to aim for in the future! I'll have a read of your site to get me started!

Cheers
  • There is a very good joint publication from the Road Runners Club/Trail Runners Association - a directory of distance events. This lists loads of races from half marathon through the range of ultras.

The RRC also publish a book called Training for Ultras - its not the most exciting prose in the world but the basics are there. Also that book The Lore of Running has a lot about ultras. The author ran the Comrades (90k) more than a few times. You can also get training schedules from the Commrades Marathon website in S. Africa.