poorly knees

can anyone help me. i have been suffering from pain on the inside leg part of my knees (does this make sense?). both of them feel swollen and i cant make it up the stairs so well! (im only 33!)have looked on the websites but still confused by the pain..any ideas??

Comments

• I'm not an expert but you could have damaged one of your quads - I'm just getting over what sounds like a very similar injury myself. The only thing I can stress is don't run until you've seen the doctor. I tried to ignore it and made it a lot worse - keep off the knee until you know what it is because It's been six or seven weeks now that I've not been able to run and it's very frustrating knowing it probably wouldn't have taken so long to heal if I'd listened to my body telling me not to run.

Good luck!
  • How long have you been running?

How many miles a week where you doing before the injury and how many miles a week when the pain started to come on?

How old are your trainers, how many miles on them?

Are you wearing the right trainers for your running style i.e do you know if you badly pronate?

The cause of the injury is more important than the injury itself, knee injuries are often by constant twisting caused by ankle problems...Although the fact that its in both of them makes it sound more like an overtraining/overuse/to much to soon type thing.

Doctors are, in general, utterly shit for diagnosing and giving advice on running injuries - an appointment with an Osteopath is a good bet or a sports Physio.
  • im trying not to run but im doing the nike 10k on nov 28th in london. ive had problems with my knees for about 2 years but sometimes it really flares up-have stopped all the tennis and squash ive been playing-i think thats aggravated it!!! im very bad at not exercising but i know youre right-will try and see a sports doctor
  • Jasonx