Options

why do I feel so cold all day after my long run?

Hi,

I'm a novice and slow plodder training for the FLM.

After my long runs (up to 15 miles so far), I feel ok in terms of lungs and legs etc. But I feel chilled to the bone all the rest of the day and can't get warm no matter what I do.

Why is that and what can I do about it?

Comments

• Options
    Hi Gar,

don't know why, but me too. It doesn't have to be that long either: if I do a short but faster one, I end up really cold too. Speculate that it is something to do with all blood going to repair leg muscles, with none spare to warm rest of body?

I find that drinking a cup of tea while in a hot bath warms me up the fastest. But have been known to sleep on the floor next to a radiator!
  • Options
    Sam.Sam. ✭✭✭
    not sure

are you eating enough afterwards? could be lack of fuel to heat your fire??
  • Options
    Gar....It does sound like you need to fuel up more after your runs, particularily the long runs.
    What do you usually eat after a run ?

Are you cold during the runs as well, or only after ?

We met briefly at Cardiff and from my poor memory (every thing was a blur that day anyway) I seem to recall you are quite a slim build ??

I find that since losing my weight I am generally cold most of the time, a strange thing for me I can tell you!!!!!!
    So I have to wear several thin layers to compensate.
    What about extra layers, are you wearing enough ?

• Options
    you need food gar
  • Options
    I have plenty of padding and I still feel frozen for most of the day after a longer run. I have hot tea, shower and pile on the clothes. Sometimes I can't eat much after a run, so I agree with others that this is probably a factor. Maybe a hot chocolate would be even better than tea?
  • Options
    I actually turn bright blue

a hot bath doesnt really help
    food does

agree-get it down inliquid form
    soup is good too
  • Options