motivation

i've been a beginner for the past 6 years or so (is this actually possible) purely because i have no motivation. And when i do go out i get all cocky and push myself too hard too soon, purely because i've been "running" for six years and know what i'm doing (well thats what my ego says anyway)

this post is for everyone in the same boat. i'm going to go for a run tomorrow and post my results on here, any words of encouragent will be welcome even if its just silly stuff.

lets get over this huge hurdle together

Comments

• why are you running?
    what do you want to achieve?
    are you entering races?
    are you recordig times?

in my (limited) experience, I needed to enter races to help keep me motivated. I needed to record stuff so that I could see I was making progress.

I needed to race (against myself) to know that I was achieving something.

I chopped and changed events to keep up my interest and to offer myself new challenges.
  • Hi enjoy your run, just aim for a short run and build up, i have only been running on & off for a year so not really a wise one. I only get out a couple of times a week but if i get tired after an hour i head for home. I will look 2moro to see how you did, i just did 5ml today, in for LFM but training is not enough. Bye for now.
  • fastest fat man,

i'm running because i love the buzz it gives me.

i want to achieve fitness without injuring myself

i did enter a race and forgot to train so wont be participating

yes i do record times and distances, but i'm not strict about it

scoops, an hour you must be mad, saying that though i was doing 45 mins last summer covering about 4.5 miles

• well, the race thing was what helped me change from running being a fad a did for two weeks a year. every year.

also, I told everyone I knew that I was doing it, to stop me backing out.

give it another thought D2.....