Getting Started 2

2»

Comments

• Fiona MFiona M ✭✭✭
    Hi Elizabeth and welcome! Well done on your Race For Life. That seems to be how a lot of women beginners started - me included.

I'm no expert, I've just been picking things up off here and other running resources since I started, but what I have learned is that it is during the REST days that your body repairs itself, and therefore improves its condition. Not enough rest = no opportunity to improve. Although the "rest" can equal some other sport that doesn't put the same strain on the same muscles as running = "cross-training". Although I've never quite figured how cycling can be counted as cross-training when it obviously works your legs too - maybe in a different way? So your gym sessions could feasibly be in addition to your running OR instead of a rest day. The received wisdom (as received by me ;-)) seems to be to "listen to your body", especially as a beginner.

Hope this makes sense.

On the subject of smoothies, I overdid it last night because made loads and hubby didn't want any. So went off to have my early night with 10 tons of banana and blackberry smoothie sitting in a pile in my stomach. :-(
  • Elizabeth -- Me too, I was told what Fiona was told :) Listen to the body, it is the all-seeing oracle of fitness, no seriusly it will tell you when and what it is capable of. Of course you also have to be wary of the mind and it's deceptive "I don't want to do it" wily ways :)

Fiona -- morning. Hope you feel better after smoothie-sitting-in-tummy. I did exactly the same thing with the smoothies yesterday morning - the mr refused to drink anything that wasn't coffee!! So I ended up drinking a whole 800mls or so to myself. Incidentally I wonder how ong the newly mixed smoothies last..? I know the PJ ones (in the botles) last for a few days.