running in this heat

i am trainin to do the GNR this yr an went for a run this afternoon, i nearly baked!! has anyone got any good strategies for keepin to your schedule when the weather gets too hot to run in?! - i ended up walking lots today as my legs felt like lead an i felt v.hot. i am only up to 3 miles at the mo and that is only at 13min miles pace! (hence the name), i dont want to get put off from running in the heat tho....so, what do you guuys do?

Comments

• Grow waist-length hair & shower first.
    Run at 4am.
  • hmmm now i am trying to figure out how growing waist length hair will help? didnt realise there was a 4 am? :-)
  • I have waist length hair. Showering first doesn't work. The water just warms up as you run :)
  • Welsh AlexWelsh Alex ✭✭✭

like your name - dead slow. With the emphasis on dead, and slow.
  • Dunk it in icy cold water then! that way you want to get warm quickly.
    I'm a student - i just see 4am from a different side to my housemates :)
  • WelshpoppyWelshpoppy ✭✭✭
    I agree run as early as you can in the morning.....don't really fancy dunking hair in icy water though;-)

try to avoid races that start at 11am or later:-(
    ALF: Always a little further
    Miles makes smiles.
    Progression
  • ah! i see, hmm don't fancy the hair dunking either tho!....looks like i will be getting up a little earlier than usual while it's hot :(
    thanks welsh alex, yeah that is exactly how i felt when i ran this afternoon dead and slow! hehehe :)
  • WelshpoppyWelshpoppy ✭✭✭
    I go out all year at 5.30am it is perfect the air is so fresh and clean.
    ALF: Always a little further
    Miles makes smiles.
    Progression
  • run when its cooler

but try getting a bandana , soaking it in cold water and tie it round your neck

maybe have a wash or even a shower in cold water so you dont start off too hot

you could even soak your vest or tshirt in cold water and then put it on to cool you down before you start in this heat