individual training programme

Help, I need a coach to enable me to devise an individual training programme but cannot join a running club. I am a veteran runner running 2:52 marathon, 36 mins 10K. I would like to get down to 2:45 for the marathon this year or next(if possible). I currently run 3 outdoor sessions per week (with 1 long run) plus 3 x 40 minute fairly intensive sessions on a treadmill. I have no more time or chances to run further so must optimise the sessions I have. Does anyone know where I could get help with such a programme - web based ??

Comments

• Have you done a half-marathon recently? If so what was your time?
    Oh yes, and: did you follow a similar training pattern when you ran 2:52 (3 sessions outdoors; 3 on the treadmill)

Also, do you have you sight on any particular marathon?
  • Nick, Thanks for the reply. I am afraid I am stuck with this training pattern and have been using it since last spring. I ran 2:52 in November. My last half was in December where I ran just under 1:20. My target marathon for a faster time would be an Autumn marathon, perhaps Abingdon which I know is pretty flat.
  • Trentsider,

You are in a fairly similar position to where I was this time last year: I ran 2:52 in Berlin at the end of September 2001, and was aiming for a 2:45 in London 2002. I didn't have the same constraint of only three outdoor runs, but given that you say you are able to run 6 days per week, that shouldn't be too much of a problem.

A few suggestions I have are:

- your three outdoor sessions should be: your long run (not too slowly - maximum 30-45 seconds slower than target MP); a semi-long MP run; a tempo run/speed session (eg, 1000m - 1 mile reps or similar);
    - two of the treadmill sessions could be fairly easy/recovery runs; one could possibly be a harder session.