Setting up a Running Club

Hi,

I've been running for about 2 years now and am getting bored of running alone. Rather than join a local club
I thought I'd set up a running club at work. I immediatly got interest from about 30 people of various abilities. The club runs are due to start in a couple of weeks.

Could anyone offer me some advice on the following:

1) Organising training for mixed abilities.
2) Oranising small races (like where can I get race numbers?!)

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers Andy.

Comments

• Andy,

Running Imp, or Winning ways sell race numbers (you'll find their phone number in any running magazine). Economy numbers should cost around £8 per 100. You'll find loads of useful stuff there if you ask them for a catalogue, for ex. safety pins (box of 500) approx £6; 1000 platic cups £15; medals, trophies, etc....
    Your first step should be to contact the AAA though, who will be able to give you help as a race organizer. You should register your event with them for insurance purposes('won't cost you anything if your club's already registered), and you should have your course measured if you want it to be an official distance (5M or 10K for instance). Race measurers don't usually charge you either, but they'll probably accept a pint. Errr what else? Let me know if you still have questions (I had to go through all this last year, and it takes a while to get your head 'round it). Oh, if you're gonna have t-shirts, try 'Winner'; I was well pleased with them.

As for training for mixed abilities, parlaufs usually work fairly well.
  • A quick idea Andy, would be to join all your work colleagues in the Road Runners Club so that they have insurance and can enter races at the reduced rate - also saves you a lot of hassle setting up a Club and getting it affiliated.
    www.roadrunnersclub.org.uk