FLM 2006 Sub 4 hours

Comments

• Happy new year everyone! How is the training going?
  • hello all and happy new year, I am a new member and its my first time on the site, can I join this target time please?
  • Graham, I have only ever once in my life run a sub-50 10km, but I've a mara PB of 3hrs 48. My half-mara best is 1hr 47.
  • Thanks for that Ironwolf

Did you follow a RW training schedule for your 3hrs 48?

Happy new year everyone!
  • cheers Laura. will see what i can find.
  • Hello All. New to this site. Have been flicking between the sub 4 and sub 3:45. I am not really a runner but did the FLM in 2001 (my first) in 3:45 following the RW mag schedules. I had never done any other racing and no races up to the big day. I hadn't a clue! I hit the half way point on 2 hrs exactly so did a faster second half. Good old speed sessions. So Im in again after 4 rejections , a badly sprained ankle and a bit older and definitely not wiser. Reading these messages makes me think Ive misses the train a bit but I did a 8 mile on NYD in 67. However like a pre msg Im having a bit of achilles pain. To that person I recommend taking 1500 mg of Glucosomine a day and if possible getting some Diclofenac down yer to help with inflamation. Anyway all the best to everyone. Happy New Year.
  • Graham - no. The plan set up by our club trainer. It basically involved running 6 days a week, Mondays off. We did a lot of 15km and 20km running during the week, Tuesdays speedwork (6 to 8 x 1km repeats), Thursdays circuits/weight work in the gym followed by a 10km run, 18 miles on 3 Sundays of the month and 21 miles on the 4th one. 2-week taper before the race. Worked for me.
  • Woah. That seems a far more intense schedule than the RW one.

Sounds bearable though....just!

Maybe I should join a running club for some additional motivation too.

• Graham, I can strongly recommend joining a club.