How do I know if running is affecting my fertility?

I'm not unduly concerned as have only been 'actively' trying to conceive for a couple of months, but have read a lot about 'excessive exercise' having a negative effect on fertility. The trouble is there does not seem to be any definition anywhere of 'excessive'.

I am therefore assuming that this varies from individual to individual. I've been running around 35-40 miles a week for the past 8 months or so, having increased from around 30-35 mpw which I'd been doing for about a year before that. Since stopping the Pill at the end of May, my periods have been reasonably regular (although what constitutes 'regular'?) although my cycle is very long: 33, 37, 35 and 40 days since June.

I'm slightly concerned (although not overly at this stage) that my running might be affecting my cycle. I do recall having a relatively long cycle (at least 28 days) pre-Pill though so perhaps I jsut have a naturally long cycle. It does make it difficult to work out when I might be fertile though - and having a period isn't necessarily an indication that ovulation is taking place. Is there any way of telling whether I'm ovulating? I don't want to go down the route of taking my temperature every day or peeing on sticks if I can avoid it, as that just breeds anxiety which is a big factor in conception.

I don't want to cut down my running unless I have to, and I think it's a bit early to start worrying about things, but I'm 36 so am aware of the pressure of time.

Any advice on how I know what is 'excessive' training for me and if there's any way of knowing whether I'm ovulating normally would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Minks, have you talked to your doc yet?

I'm in the same boat, am 34 and tried 3 cycles of ov predictor kits and nothing showed so I've just had a 21 day blood test to tell if I've ovulated by measuring your levels of progesterone. Next step for me is course of Clomid which makes you ovulate.