Shades Marathon Training

Comments

• That frame looks great Ian, my wife made something similar for me but with all my medals and race numbers, although I've not ran any marathons yet!

I'm officially in the first week of marathon training! I had a forced weekend off with a tummy bug, but hopefully will be ok by tomorrow and getting started (although I've been training quite well for a couple of months!)

Quite apprehensive about it all, and feel I ask very basic questions to a group of you experienced campaigners but hopefully it all works out.
  • Big_GBig_G ✭✭✭
    Shades, being nosey, I was having a look at house prices in that area and some of them were eye-watering!  Very nice though.  I've been to Darts Farm before although we didn't go yesterday.

Don't know if you're aware of a local runner called Arran Tocknell?  I don't think he does marathons but he's one of the quicker local runners.  I was plodding along minding my own business on my run this morning and he flew past me like I was standing still.  I just had a look and he was doing mile reps around Paignton Green at around 5:15 pace.  Gulp!

I'll have a think about Marrakech.  I need some kind of plan, that's for sure!
  • Big_GBig_G ✭✭✭
    X-Post, Cozy.  Don't worry about asking questions; if something's on your mind, just ask.  Although some of us have been running for a while, we all still have questions.
  • Thanks Big-G, I appreciate it!

On Arran Tocknell subject, I live close to Callum Hawkins and the Strava records in my area are largely held by him at a pace I think I'd struggle to run if I just turned up to do the Strava section!!

I also lived in Guernsey for a few years and would regularly see Lee Merrien tanking past, it really is unbelievable the pace these lads maintain for such a distance!
  • Big_GBig_G ✭✭✭