Shades Marathon Training

Comments

• Ian5Ian5 ✭✭✭
    How close do you reckon to  PB in training is good enough to be happy with,so if I run a HM time trial and my PB is 1:24,what would you say is a good run? I'm thinking 2 or 3 minutes is a race improvement? Any thoughts?
  • E mmyE mmy ✭✭✭
    Shades: we're at 95% humidity I've just been told. Yesterday was closer to 98% and it was 27c in the sun. 

Ian: I'm not an expert but I'd say getting within 2mins of your PB is a good effort?
  • SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    Ian - impossible to say.   Only you can be the judge of that as to how the pace feels, how strong you feel etc.   Too many variable factors for anyone else to define your performance, heat/humidity/lack of race adrenaline/running alone etc. 

Good luck.
  • SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    Emmy - was about 22c here yesterday afternoon and 17c when I went out this morning.

27c and 98%  humidity, phew.  🥵
  • Ian5Ian5 ✭✭✭
    Shades-I seen they had been planning that but the first one got delayed bu 2 weeks,looks a good system with small wave starts,no spectators and a closed circuit.
  • SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    Ian - fast course too, on a tarmac track around the racecourse.

The half was won in 1:12 and the guy was aged 60.   He is the current WR holder for V55 half marathon.   Still running 100mpw at aged 60.
  • Cal JonesCal Jones ✭✭✭
    There's hope for me yet then! Just had an email re: The Westminster Mile, which I'd assumed had just completely bitten the dust, saying they are exploring options. Rather late given it was supposed to be in May, but still.

I took a rare Sunday rest day as my body felt quite trashed after the hills yesterday and I've done some rehab and been for a drizzly walk. Achilles was the sorest thing after the run and when I woke up, but couldn't feel it on the walk, but left hammy is very grouchy. Groin's fine though, so fingers crossed it's on the mend now.
  • Ian5Ian5 ✭✭✭