Eating disorders article

Comments

• Boing

ah
    I didnt answer Therese question
    med doc
  • I've copied this from another thread becuase i suspect it'll get better answered here.

Originally posted by LyraOK:

Hi, I'm very new to all this, so please forgive me any lack of running knowledge.

Have been trying to kick my eating disorder, but finding it hard to let go of my weight obsession (my bmi's 18.1 - so fairly normal, but always fear that I am but a missed run or a doughnut away from morbid obesity). As an attempt to turn this into something healthier (know I can't go on as I have been), I am focusing on running to maintain a healthy body rather than a thin one.

I do feel at risk of substituting an eating disorder for running, or the latter becoming an integral part of the former. Does anyone have any advice?

Hx

I had an ED & was in hospital when i was 16 - have been out of treatment & at a stable weight for about 5 years now.
    Running was definitely part of my ED at the time - another sort of self-harm. I had to give up running for a year or so just to prove to myself that i could, and get over fear of missed run = instantly fat.
    After that, i think running has been a positive part of my recovery - it definitely helped my body image & attitude to food. Club running also helped me put it in a more 'normal' context - i was able to see how people who took running seriously but with a healthy attitude to it behaved, i'd got a reason to listen to people who said i was training too hard, and the social side was good too. However, i really did need the break from running so i could get some perspective back.

i do think there's a very real danger of just substituting (or adding) running for food issues.