Splin Shints!

I'm annoyed. 3 weeks of running 30 miles a week and then I have to have 2 weeks off running completely because of serious shin pain...

My book says that I've got bad technique. My running shop says I over pronate and therefore need expensive trainers currently asics 20 series - (which I'm sceptical about as my book says flexible trainers are best). My book says that I'll always be prone to shin splints -BUT I WANT TO KNOW THE TRUTH! Can I avoid them by landing on my heels?

I've been running for 15 years and it's only in the last 3 years that I've got shin splints from time to time... I want a cure... Please help. I am a stone heavier than I was but surely that's not the reason. I'm still only 12 stone which is not bad...

I want to be able to run 30 miles constantly for ever and not have to have forced lay offs. Is that too much to ask? I'll never complain about the wind and the rain again - I promise!

Any help would be gratefully received!

Comments

• Well - I'm a forefoot runner - of sorts & I've been cured of a lifelong shin splint problem (which I had when I was 7 stone - and also 13.5stone!) during which time 3 physio's have told me never to run again - but it's not been cheap - nor easy - and along the way a lot of physio's (and the RW Doctor!!!) missed what should have been obvious signs of what was wrong.

as well as all the obvious things (like concrete pavements/ upping mileage and especially intensity) I had various 'unique' factors causing my problems...
    Long long story - if you really want - e-mail me and I'll send you chapter and verse - but in essence my problems related to:-

pelvic rotation causing an apparent leg length discreprancy - which meant that my right leg was effectively shorter than my left and right foot was effectively having to overpronate' as it had 'further ' to travel before hitting the ground. This caused severe pain - the muscle was tearing off the bone - on my right leg