Dogs.......

Comments

• popsiderpopsider ✭✭✭
    I agree we shouldn't be complacent but I don't think it's necessarily irresponsible for a runner to run with their dog off the lead (not your point FR but IMIBs)- I keep mine on the lead but if I had a very well behaved dog I'd let it off.

You may as well say all dogs should be on a lead in public places - in my opinion that would be going too far. If someone has a large but good natured and well trained dog off the lead but close to them that to me is fine - yes I'd probably be slightly cautious if I was running past them and maybe ask if it was OK - but that seems a fairly small thing and not really an inconvenience.
  • Yes - I have to confess that even as a sheep farmer I'm not a fan of dogs on leads, but it is obviously necessary on occasions (but not always in the presence of sheep)

Like you Popsider I always try to engage with the dog "Hello mate", and assess the reaction. Its a fact of life though that some people just don't like dogs for whatever reason, and its important to be sensitive to that.