short/long race distances .. ?

As a beginner I'm not sure if this is a naive question.

Basically are the races that I find on this site likely to be well measured? If I enter a 10k am I going to actually run 10k?

The reason I ask is that I ran my second ever 10k very recently. I clocked a PB of 42.42.

In my first ever 10k I ran 46.40.

Training for these I had a target of 45.00 in mind. I'd spent several months running.

Often I train in a gym and whilst I can run a 5k fairly comfortably in 22.30 on a treadmill - a 21.20 is really hard work. I somehow can't imagine that I ran two of those back to back and didn't even feel I was particularly pushing myself.

In fact I completed the first 'half' of my recent 42.42 10k in about 20.45 which I've only ever come close to on a treadmill about a year ago when I was 3Kg lighter.

So, what do you think? Was the recent 10k a bit short? (My personal favourite theory.)
Or what?

Interested to know any experiences. Particularly perhaps from anyone running with one of those cool gadgets (GPS or shoe sensor) that measures how far you have run.

I am deliberately not mentioning either of the races at this point as I'm not sure that would be good etiquette. If it /would/ be ok, do let me know and I'll post them.

Thanks

Comments

• Race distances are sometimes wrong.

Usually if they are meant to be accurate there is something on the literature about the distance having been certified.

Unless a race is measured incorrectly, it is more likely to be further than stated for the individual, because you don't always take the best line.

My garmin is usually no more than 0.2 of a mile in excess of the official distance, but it doesn't like buildings or trees.
  • It would be fine to name the races (IMHO) - asking about accuracy of distance is a common question, and others may have also run those races and be able to comment on their race time vs. expected time.