I started to enjoy running

2»

Comments

• ps im going for my first 8 mile run on friday morning so wish me luck :)
  • Good luck Ben!!! I've only got as far as running 3 miles but signed up for 10K in May so hopefully i'll be able to go that far by then :-)

I've been running for a couple of years, but not very regularly at all. Started more regularly in past couple of months. Did virtually everything on a treadmill as found it far too hard outdoors, but knew I had to wean myself off it. So i've started running outside again and I LOVE IT!!! Totally converted! I just slowed down (tho didn't think i could be slower) and now running is fun. I ran alongside a river the other day and I could hear birds chirping...was lovely! My pace is around 10min/mile, so not fast but i've stopped stressing about that. I'm aiming to increase my distance first, then i'll worry about speed. One step at a time...!
  • hello ben

youll need to eat a good 2-3 hours before-id experiment before your 8 mile run to see what you can tolerate
    porridge seesm a favourite

the first 10 minutes(20 for me)is known as the "toxic ten"
  • hippo - ah i see, thanks! problem i have is that for the 8 miler on friday i will have to be out the door by 6 so i dont really want to get up any earlier just so i can eat, the more i think about it the more i think that if i increase the distance much more im going to suffer through not eating? are there any alternatives? how about a sports drink or something?

icw - i know how you feel, when i started a few months back i was on the treadmill and hated it, so boring jyst looking at either the clock (which never seemed to work) or my disturbing reflection in the mirror! since the weather has improved its great outside, so much better! im at the same pace as you, have done my 5 mile runs in 48 mins, again im not fussed about how fast i do it, would just like to get round without walking.

good luck peeps!