Rotary Shakespeare Marathon 2007

Comments

• Just thinking about this one because of the afternoon start as I have quite a way to travel, but have noticed the website is advertising a 9.30 am start. Does anyone know whats happening?
  • hi to you all. i too have never ran or trained for a marathon b4 but have set this as a personal goal for this year. I got rejected for FLM but i ran the Shakespear 1/2 last year . It was my first ever race. As i'm quite new to running (01/01/06) i panic a bit with making sure i don't over do it in stages etc so as this is 2 laps of what i've already ran i thought i'd give it a go as it should be familiar to me. The hill at 8 miles i was dreading after reading threads last year but it wasn't steep at all it was more like a gentle climb for about 1/2 mile. Meant to be training and running with hubby but we've just decided to seperate. Was feeling all sorry for myself and wondered whether to continue but after reading what poor 'Runner bean' has had to contend with then i feel slightly shameful! So it's rest day today on my RW schedule and i'll get with the program.
  • Just been on mapmyrun.com and it doesn't recognise my address. Does anybodyelse know of any suitable sites so that i can plan road runs instead of me keep running on the treadmill.
  • Hi Rich Tea,

Mapmyrun is a bit clunky. Sometimes the best way is to find a town or village nearby and navigate your way to the start of your run.

You need patience with the as it can be frustrating at times.

• Rich Tea - try www.runlondon.com - while it is aimed at London it actually covers the whole of the UK and I have mapped runs in Wolverhampton with now issues.

Just click on find/create running route & follow the instructions!

I also found it pretty acurate - I have a Garmin 201 now and this gives the same distance as the routes on this site.