Skiing

Hi all

I've been running on and off for about 12 months (my mum started me off!). I'm going skiing in December and need to get incredibly fit legs so that I can keep up with my friends. My fitness levels so far are not so good, I can run 2 miles in 20 minutes.

Any suggestions?

Comments

• Hi Sharon,

What sort of skiing - cross country, or down a huge mountain? I've done both, and eacy requires you to know the proper technique. So, if you have never been before, I'd highly recommend a lesson or two to start you off properly. As for how much running you should do, as long as you are fit (no need to be super fit, just athletic enough, if that makes sense), this will be a good help.

Have fun!
    Hild
  • 'eacy'???! I meant to say each!
  • Not sure whether you ski already, but if you're a beginner - there's no need to be especially fit to ski - I have got progressively fitter with each ski holiday as I've upped the running and all it's meant is that I don't get as sore and can last all day on the slopes, however as a beginner it's unlikely you'll want to stay skiing all day as it's frustrating. If you've skied before, I wouldn't worry too much on the fitness - if you really want to do something, squats, lunges and training on hills will all help! I love skiing, can't wait for thenew season!

Happy running!