Girls only.....skipping periods....

I have been running 4-5 times a week (approx 50-60k) for the last 2 years and since I came off the pill a year ago my periods have been getting lighter and less frequent. I am starting to get worried that this could lead to other bad effects like osteoperosis, stress fractures etc.

Should I be worried (I know it is not a medical problem as I had it checked out at the doctors), and if so what can I do to rectify this? Would going back on the pill help as at least then I had regular periods?

I read that one way to help would be to eat more but I don't think this is relevant to me as I eat like a horse anyway. I'm 5ft 1 and 8st 4 which I think is normal.

Does anyone else suffer from this?

Comments

• Amenorrhea (missing periods) is a recognised risk factor for osteoporosis. It is a problem for a lot of high mileage athletes aswell as gymnastics and the like. I am a bloke so going in to unchartered territory a bit here, but my job does deal with osteoporsis so I know a bit about it.
    Don't want to give advice on how to regulate periods, but I know it can be helped with some contraceptive pills.
    I would recommend going to your GP and asking specifically about osteoporosis - he/she may well send you for a Dxa bone scan which will give an indication of how dense your bones are. They will hopefully be in great nick.
    Don't forget that you are building bone until your mid twenties to thirty and the more you get "in the bank" until then the better. From then on your bone density starts to deteriorate.
    You can help build/ keep bone by taking plenty of calcium and vitamin D, eating a healthy diet, and ironically by taking plenty of weight bearing exercise, such as running!
  • Rachel, I would go back to the doctor and ask for an explanation. Good luck