rubbish magazine advice

I just felt like having a rant at the 'training advice' printed in 'Health and Fitness' magazine to a first-time marathon runner, competing in the FLM.
Please correct me if I am wrong, but the advice given by celeb fitness guru Nicki Waterman seemed really wrong.
She advised that by now, weekly mileage should be 50-75miles, broken down into five 10-12runs plus a longer 15mile run.
I feel like writing to the magazine and suggesting that runners log onto this fab site, and pay no attention to the advice given.
Any comments?

Comments

• I'm no expert but as a beginner doing my second marathon in three years, and no other racing in between, there's no way I'm running 50-75 miles a week at this stage in my training. If she was aiming this at beginners, I can't believe she was giving good advice, as you say. I'd stick to the training schedule given in the FLM magazine, and to the intermediate training schedule posted on the Runners World website. If you do write to the magazine, let us know what they reply.
  • Sounds like a Jack of All Trades magazine.

I think that plan isn't the best in the world, but it would probably work, but a bit more strain on the body than I'd like.

If I wanted advice though, I would do a bit more research than writing to a non-running magazine. And by now, it'll probably be too late for him.

No point in writing in - they aren't gonna recommend another mag unless it's the same publisher, which I don't think it is.

• I agree Susan - totally ridiculous! This is my first marathon and I think I'd have pulled out with injuries/exhaustion by now if I'd tried to follow Nicki Waterman's "schedule". Lucky for us we've discovered this site!

Rach
  • I thought this thread was going to contain advice on which rubbish magazine to buy! I mean, is "Garbage Monthly" better than "Trash"? Does "Rubbish Today" have any good articles this month, or should I stick to "Bins & Binnery?".