Too far too fast?

I picked up a hip injury in December which a friend thought was due to me overdoing it. i had been running for about 6 months and was up to about a 10 miler for my long run. he reckons i should increase my long run by only 5% a time - any thoughts? also, i've just started running again (2 months off) but kept biking to keep my fitness up - where should i step back in to my running program and how do i avoid increasing my long run / weekly mileage by too much?

Comments

• The 5% advice is very sound. Sudden increase in mileage can be the route to injury and pain.

The hip injury, have you seen a physio?

Biking is good ( I did lots when recovering from a couple of cracked ribs in January - after a cycle accident ) but the impact is not there. It keeps the heart going well though.

I would say step back in at about 4 miles easy, and take it from there. Increase gently though. Perhaps aim for an Autumn half as a target, but enter it asap to make yourself achieve it.
  • Hi DJ,

I am recovering from hip injury as well. Like you I have been doing some bike sessions on the turbo. Now that I can slowly run again I am doing the following:
    I do a session on the turbo then I go straight into a run. This way I keep the heart going and save myself the impact of a long run. I am doing 30 to 40 min on the bike then 30 to 40 min runs. I will increase 10 minutes after two weeks and then progress into one longer run ( 1h) a week without biking before. I hope it helps. Good luck