First Timer

1151617181921»

Comments

• Hi all,

I was looking on the internet hoping that there would be a FL08 thread somewhere! I got in this year 4th time lucky - well this was the only year I just entered because it was habbit rather than actually planning on doing it! I am a complete beginner so if anyone can give me any help I would be really happy. Im quite scared as I havent ran that much before. So far I can just about cope with a slow 3 1/2 miles!!!!

I think Im quite out of my depth here!image

• Hi Beeker,

I've done one and still feel out of my depth.

Talk to other people who have done one and look at different training plans to see which one suits your lifestyle as at the end of the day as you need to fit the runs in.  it is very time consuming but it is worth it. Promise image

• beeker , you shouldnt feel out of your depth as no one was ever born a runner . you have done one of the hardest things by getting in so now the rest should be easy !!!

knowing this far in advance gives you time to sit down and work out a suitable training plan that suits your need .

if you need motivation just look back on the reasons you kept applying or go back to the start of this forum because it was a lifesaver at times for this years race . you are about to embark on a massive journey (and i'm not just about 26.2 miles in april) that you will remember for the rest of your life . even if you finish last in the race , you will have thousands of people behind you .

• Thanks guys - I need that.... I think the motivation on the cold cold days is where im going to struggle - so far Iv been ok but I have only been doing a little for a few weeks! My plan is to run 3 miles every day or two if I can and then after xmas start to build up the miles - my boyfriend does ironman so he should be able to get me there pysically its mentally im worried about!!!
  • Hi everyone,

Well, have unexpectedly got a charity place - so all systems go! Gulp!!