Probate Question

A couple make a will and in it they leave a sum of money to a nephew who then dies.  A few years later the husband dies and a few years after that the wife.  Should the executors pay the sum mentioned in the will to the nephew's next of kin or did the bequest become void on the nephews death.  There was no mention in the will of the bequest being passed on.

Comments

• fat buddhafat buddha ✭✭✭

I "think" the bequest becomes void but I'm no expert here - although I believe the executors do have some discretionary rights over these matters??

best consult a probate lawyer to get correct info

• I "think" fb is probably right, there is no automatic assumption that the inheritance passes to the next of kin.

My OH has recently had the same discussion over the will of his mother in terms of the line of inheritance:

So, OH will inherit the family house when his stepfather dies and if and when OH dies, then I would inherit the house.... but ONLY if OH doesn't die before his step father and HAS actually inherited the house himself.

If OH dies before his stepfather, than there's no automatic assumption that I'd inherit, unless that was actually specified in his stepfather's will.

What I'm not sure about is who does inherit under those circumstances.... Presumably the fact that there is no valid will (and no remaining spouse ofrdirect next of kin) means that any living blood relatives have a right to claim?

• jelly beanjelly bean ✭✭✭

FB, JF - that's what I would have thought, however these things can sometimes surprise.  A chat with the solicitor I think.

• im probate lawyer - bequest become void as the nephew predeceased them both. 

• feel free to PM me if you have any other questions!  happy to help image