Jogger prams

Hey all not sure if this should really go under this topic but can't seem to find one that suits. I am a beginner and am wanting to take my little one out with me (occasionally) so am looking into buying a jogger pram, I have found one but my partner is wondering if anyone has run with a jogger pram before on here and if so do they find any problems with it, such as bad back etc. i guess when you run the natural thing to do is move your arms but when your out with a baby your not really moving the arms much but then I am only just starting out so maybe I don't really know how using a jogger pram works. Hope someone can advise or point me in the right direction. Many thanks

Comments

• Yes I used to use one when ours were little. General advice is to get one with good big wheels. I couldn't afford one of those and ran with a more general 3 wheeler buggy with 12 inch wheels (fixed front wheel is essential!). It was perfectly fine running with it - I even used it a few times in my running club's monthly handicap race. Running up hills is a fair bit harder, along the flat not much different, and it is a help going down hill.

Generally not considered good to run with a real little 'un - wait until they are a good few months old and can support their head really well.

Remember when it gets colder they are just sitting still, and because of the excessive speed you will be travelling at, they can get very cold - wrap them up well, and put the raincover over as this keeps the wind off them. I would also say that although my kids in general loved it, that it is important to be prepared to be flexible and cut runs short if they are unhappy. For a similar reason if doing a longer run, use a route which brings you back near your house regularly rather than one big loop - running 5 miles back with a screaming child is not good for you or the child!