Diet advice for a complete beginner

Hi there.

Just signed up to these forums with the sole purpose of grabbing any and all advice related to the contradictory-packed world of diets.

Few things that may be important: I'm 20, 5"10 and about 11 and a half stone. I'm looking to lose another half stone or so I think.

I have been running just over a year now and have completed 3 Half Marathons. I think it's about time that I got my diet on track. Seems like I'm maybe not getting as much benefit as I could from running because the food I eat is unvaried and probably not terribly beneficial. Basically - I want to go all in.

At the moment I live off about 3 pieces of fruit a day, sandwiches, cereals and tomato soup. With little variation to that setup.

I'm looking for someone to give me advice that's as detailed as you can/can be bothered to make it. I'm quite a fussy eater in all honestly but I'm going to try to throw that out of the window.

Ideally I'd love a weekly meal plan that I can stick to each day and then it repeats each week. This will be doubly helpful by the time my university course rolls around and I have to buy all of this stuff for myself and keep the motivation to run and all of that side of things. The last time I was at uni I put on a lot of weight.

Thanks in advance for all of your help guys. I need to get myself into the habit of eating good food and hopefully actually cooking simple things for myself.

Comments

• Seeing as we're almost the same in terms of height, age, running experience and weight (11 stone, was 12 stone about 2 months ago and that weight gain was due to inactivty being injured) I might as well tell you whats worked for me, but I'm no expert.