How nervous do you get before a race?

First tri fast approaching - this Saturday.

I've been trying to have early nights this week (usually never in bed before 11.30/12), but I can't sleep.
I'm on a rollercoaster of feeling calm and organised, then plunging towards near panic.
My wonderful mentor tells me this is perfectly normal (and I believe her).
Does it ease off as you do more races?

Maybe I should lay of the pints of espresso? 

Comments

• change the pints of expresso to pints of beer .that should help............

I get the mixed emotions of excitment and nervousness..which i think is the perfect mix to start a raceimage

• Hey image Its ok to be a bit apprenhensive, especially as its your first one!! i am also new to this and the thought of the big day can be a bit image

I like the nervy feeling though, gets me hyped up a bit image I know a few people who let the big event really get to them and it does them no favours at all.

I find that making sure all my kit is super organised and ready to go really helps me the night before. I found a list online http://triathlon.racechecklist.com/ and i go through that to make sure i don't forget my bike or something hopeless. Helps me sleep (a teeny bit) easier and takes off at least 25% off that arrghhhhhhh feeling in the morning image

I am from a running background, i certainly get more spun out for tri's then i do for marathons. But for both events i find, honestly, that as soon as i get started the nerves totally go and i really enjoy it image 

• Nurse Ratched (Baconlube CEO) wrote (see)

My wonderful mentor tells me this is perfectly normal (and I believe her).

That's your first problem - she's a well know liar image

• 6 pints of lager does the trick for me - but not for everyone image 

• Less of that, Raf, or we'll come round your house in the dead of night, I'll bring a bedpan straight out of the freezer and she'll magic your legs to lead so you can't run away image