Just had a scam phone call

I've just had a phone call, not even number withheld, from a guy called Michael who said he was from Microsoft Windows, to ask to speak to my OH because their computer was reporting that it was infected with a virus.

Ok, firstly I wouldn't expect Microsoft to be phoning up every person that has a computer virus on their PC.

Secondly, when I tell you that OH is away and has their computer with them then I would expect you to understand that it is impossible for me to therefore turn on their computer so that you can walk me through the steps needed to get rid of the virus. Especially as unless you've got the instructions for every single piece of anti-virus software then you aren't going to be able to walk me through it.

Finally, when I tell you that I work with computers, I test computer software for a living, and that I know perfectly well how to run a scan and remove any viruses that might show up then you really should realise that you are talking to the wrong person.

It seems that there's a nice little phone scam doing the rounds as my mother-in-law and father-in-law have both received the same phone call. Apparently the guy that rung father-in-law got quite nasty when he refused to do it.

Comments

• i get them all the time........i just say that i don't pwn a computer or s lsptop so they are very clever to find s problem......they quickly ring offimage

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭

This one's been doing the rounds for a while now, I had a similar call a few months ago. It took me a while to get my head round the reason for the call, but at least I kept them on the phone for a while whilst I quizzed them.  It all sort of fizzled out when I asked for a number I could call them back on.

It's sad to think that a lot of gullible people must get sucked in with this shit, so I say keep them on the phone as long as possible - if you've got nothing better to do - without letting on that you know they're on the fiddle.