Wiggo..... Arrogant?

I was just having an argument with someone about Bradley Wiggins. I like him. I think he is no nonsense and pretty bloody good at what he does. Its nice to have a British athlete for once who can pretty much knock the spots off anybody on the planet today. We don't often get that.

Anyway matey was saying that he didn't like him because Wiggo come across as arrogant. Firstly I think he has a little bit of an atitude but thats his thing. But so would I if I were one of the best sportsman this country has ever seen. What I didnt get was when he won his gold he didn't seem to even know the where he was. Possibly one of the most famous buildings in the UK Hampton Court. What was that all about?? So perhaps he might just be daft as a brush

When you are good at something do you need that little bit of arrogance to make you better. Does it matter if somebody is arrogant aslong as they are good?

I can't be arrogant as I am not very good at anything other than eating biscuits and sleeping.

Thoughts and answers on a postcard

Comments

• Wiggins isn't arrogant in any way. Everyone loves him including the French media which is amazing given their hatred of anyone not French that's better than their cyclists. Very down to earth
  • well thats what I thought. good point NW4 we do love our losers and hate our winners. We never like to see people doing well and if they fail miserably it always seems heroic.

I think what he was getting at was that Wiggo said no other coloured medal would have done. I thought he just meant he had his eyes set on gold and nothing was going to stop him. But chummy thought it was demeaning Martin and Froome

• PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭

Wiggo arrogant??  The worst I can say is that he can sometimes come across a little aloof in interviews, but if anything that's probably more to do with his shy nature, quite the opposite of arrogance.