Help I'm a complete novice!!

Ok so I had a mad moment, whereby I declared I would do a triathlon in Sept. I have yet to enter but I plan to do novice sprint in bath in mid sept. However I am the following: 1. Overweight. I've lost a stone, but have another 1.5 st to go. 2. Ridiculously slow at all three disciplines 3. Old (slight exaggeration, I'm 38) 4. A mum with boooobs So now slightly flapping. Will everyone be clad in Lycra? How do I swim wit my sports bra requirements?! How do I get from swimming pool to bike? What about knickers? What if I'm last by a long margin? Can I do breast stroke? Fellow athletes I need your help!!

Comments

• As another complete novice and a guy the only advice I can give from experience os on the weight side of things. I am 6'2" and weighed about 220lbs 3 months back due to injury. Decided to do my first event, a sprint triathlon about a month before the actual event. Over that time I found out extra weight does take a toll on your knees and joints used for running in genereal so after a training session (especially running and cycling) ice your knees. Also from what I saw there were loads of serious looking people and loads of beginners too, both groups more than willing to give advice and encouragement, Oh and don't worry about finishing last. I got lost on the run and crossed the finish line before doing a U-turn and completing the rest of the run. And I got stuck in my wetsuit for 4 minutes!. And in the end what mattered was that I had completed it alive and was happy. Best of luck and register now, cause later you might wuss out!

• I bet you're neither the biggest nor the slowest, and even if you are you'lll receive as much support as the whippets at the front. It's supposed to be fun - relax!

What are you intending to wear? I think it's worth investing in a tri suit (or at least a pair of tri shorts) if you can but if not you won't be the only one swimming in a costume and putting bike kit on afterwards.