Any advice - all welcome!

I did the GNR a few years ago and this year as only the good memories now remain, I have signed up for the New Forest Half Marathon (going for the location).  I am running for charity so just hoping to make it round and raise as much as possible, but I am struggling.....

I am trying to do two short runs ( 2- 3 miles) and a long run a week (upping mileage on this) (though difficult to fit this in).  Instead of the runs I have been sometimes doing circuit training or long bike rides.

I am fine with short runs, but now I am on 6 miles + on the longer runs it's begining to hurt!  Any advice??

Still going to persevere but it would be good if it got easier.....I did ask a running club if I could join, to get their help, but I was rejected as I run too slowly (12 min miles).

Cheers!

Comments

• Im no expert but i think you need to up your training to at least 4 runs a week, and if you are circuit training or bike riding you need to do these as well as runs and not instead of runs.

Are you doing the one on 23rd september? that gives you only 7 weeks, so you need to start upping the mileage

there is a good first time schedule here but as you can see it is for 10 weeks

http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/racing/rws-10-week-150-plus-half-marathon-schedules/99.html

not sure whether the best move is start 3 weeks in or cut off the last 3 weeks?
    Doesnt matter if you can run the distances non stop or need to put in walking breaks, i think the important thing is the distance.

As for a running club, you can always try good old parkrun, hopefully there will be one near you http://www.parkrun.org.uk/events/events
    they are free timed 5k runs every week, people of all abilities go, and although its only 5k you will mix with a lot of people who can help with your training!

good luck!

• stutyrstutyr ✭✭✭