The Benefits of Interval Training

Hi all, last night I did a track session of 16 x 400 metre runs with each run starting every 2:05. My average 400metre run was completed in 1:23, leaving 42 seconds to get my breath before starting the next one.

A week ago I ran 8 x 800metres, similar principle with a new run starting every 4:00 and average speed of 3:00 leaving 60 seconds to recover.

My current PB's are 5k 19:22 and 10k 40:57 and I found both sessions tough.

My question is, what exactly does this training do to improve my performance from a physiological perspective? I realise that it teaches my body to move my legs quicker, but with so much information about lactate thresholds, tempo runs, intervals, anaerobic/aerobic conditioning I have been overwhelmed with information that I am struggling to make sense of in my mind as I have been running for only a few months.

I undestand they will be beneficial but I would like to know how exactly instead of just turning upto a track and running them oblivious of the effect.

Comments

• meant to post and then realised i couldnt say it scientifically so gave up!

• BookyBooky ✭✭✭

When you train hard your muscles reach a point at which they produce lactate faster than they can use it. As the lactate builds up, the pH in the muscles drops (lactic acid makes it become more acidic) and this leads to fatigue and a drop in power output.

The point of training in this way is to change your lactate threshold. Working the muscles at or near the lactate threshold encourages physiological adaptations that helps you to use lactate more efficiently, and also helps to buffer against the hydrogen ions in the lactic acid. Doing this means you train yourself to be able to sustain a higher work output for a longer period of time.

Is that clear? I hope so!

• Ok so it increases my lactate threshold - enabling me to work at higher levels of effort before lactic acid builds up?