Newbie starting?

Ok, this might sound stupid but i was just wondering how you started running and how far you ran, and how much by did you increase the distance/time you ran. Also do you recommend any good running gear such as shoes ect. Also do you wear a normal T-shirt or do you get one of those dri-fit ones?

Thanks image

Comments

• Firstly I am just a runner not an expert and secondly without knowing how fit and fatimage you are this is inevitably a bit vague. I will presume you are not that fit based on your questions. 

A couple of years ago I trained my 17 year old daughter (5ft 1 - 8 stones - no other exercise) from not running at all to a HM in 2hours 7 mins in 12 weeks.

We started by running on grass and she just used cheap trainers and in week 7 we invested in some proper running shoes for her (but only spent £50-£60 so low end of range). By then we were running a long run of around 7 miles on road (so probably left it a little late to get the shoes).

She never ran in anytihng more than a normal T-shirt including the HM itself.

Her first runs were 8 mins slow jog 4 mins walk 8 mins slow jog. We did this twice a week then at weekend we ran 12 mins slow jog (8+4) 4 mins walk and 9 mins slow jog and just slowly increased it every week until we got up to around 10 miles running in 10 th week with the same 4 minute walk in middle - this used to really work as a motivator in the early difficult miles.

She managed to run the whole HM without stopping.image

If you can't manage 8,4,8 then make up your own combination that you can do but it needn't leave you feeling wrecked - keep it fun and 'easy' (if it starts walk 8, run 4, walk 8 then that's okay too).

Try and pick 3 mornings/nights a week and go whatever the weather - making it part of your routine will make it more likely that you keep it up.