Complete newbie running London Marathon 2013

So, I always thought that I hated running...loved the idea of it but just couldnt do it! Or so I thought. A few weeks ago I decided (on a whim as my partner seems to think) to sign up to the London marathon 2013 for an amazing charity called children in crisis. To my surprise I was accepted onto the team and am now running the marathon. Oh God! A marathon to me seemed like my idea of hell, but something I've always wanted to do (weird logic I know).

Now that I've been 'training' for the last 3 weeks, I've built up to comfortably running over 5k and actually enjoying it! Its a miracle! I've become a bit obsessed! I know I have the right mindset to do this, I just want to make sure I'm doing everything properly.

I've been googling/searching for all kinds of info..but just wanted a bit of extra advice on (pretty much everything):

trainers (how early on should I buy a decent pair to avoid injury etc)

when should I start 'proper' marathon training and what would you advise?

would you advise compression tights?

I have a 'clicky' left hip, what should I do to strengthen/avoid aggrivating it?

So sorry about all the questions, I'm just so into this now and want to get as much advice as I possibly can! Thank you in advance! image

Comments

• Hi Mikayla

Get trainers immediately.  Go to Sweatshop ASAP to get sorted out with an appropriate selection.  I would look to build up to being able to run 10- 12 miles by xmas easily (not out of breath, not too tired and minimal soreness), which would put you in position A to start training 'properly' in the new year.

Go to a sports doctor now, so they can sort out the hip thing early, before it becomes an issue.

I hate the look of compression tights so much, I won't wear them no matter what, but many swear by them.  I think you'll need to try them for yourself.  If you're attracted to these, you may also want to look into ice baths.