Pacing Myself

Just wanted to get some more expert opinions on pacing myself in the Great North Run. I have no previous race experience but training has been going OK and I believe I can run it sub 2 hours if I don't ruin my efforts by setting off too quick.

My best training runs have been a 6.5 miler at 7.55 pace which left me knackered, (would have struggled to sustain the effort any longer) and a 10.6 miler in 1hour 31mins - think the average pace was about 8.38.

Should I set off and try and run bang on 9 minute pace or slightly under throughout, trying to run the last mile quicker if I have anything left or do I try and run it at 8.30/8.40 pace, giving myself a chance of a low 1.50s time but risking tiring and slowish up at the finish?

Any views much appreciated?

Comments

• How did you feel on the 10 miler? Was it comfortable or hard work?

• Also-ranAlso-ran ✭✭✭

What is the elevation profile of the course? - I have not done the GNR.  A constant pace is generally the most economical and sensible  way to run for a first timer, but if it is undulating or even hilly, then I would look for a constant effort. This will need some knowledge of the route, so you know when to push and, on when to back off.

If you are going to try for 1:50, personally I would run the first half fairly conservatively, and then push on in the second half dependent on how you feeling. Of course, if your training suggests otherwise, then go for it.

• Dacning in spikes, it wasn't a very hilly 10,6 miles but I wasn't flat out and ran my last mile the quickest. (about 8.15)

Also-ran, the course looks undulating. I live in Calderdale and I think some of my training runs have had steeper (albeit shorter) hills than appear to exist in the GNR. That said, it doesn't look hilly on paper but folks who have run it have said otherwise!

Just done a hilly 7.53 in 64.59 this morning (which is 15 minutes faster than I ran it in April) Was hard work though.