Just signed up for the Reading Half 2013 with no running experience at all-HELP

so having dropped a fair bit of wieght (3stone and counting) I've signed up for the Reading Half,I need something to aim at or I'll just stay on the couch-I've been to Sweatshop and got decent running shoes and some proper shorts and T shirts and I'm looking to start a couch to 5K then just extend the range,is this a good enough plan?

When I say I've no running experience I really mean it but I've got until March 17th next year so I think I have time,just not a clue.image

Is there such a thing as a "pre" couch to 5K plan?

I will finnish this,even if I have to crawl round on my hands and knees,but I want to enjoy it,not be put off for life.image

So please any advice for a clueless newbe?

Comments

• Good luck I was in the same boat. I had never ran until May this year, and was overweight by quite a bit. Do couch to 5k just repeat weeks if they are a struggle, then when you can do 5k find a half marathon plan you like. I use asics.co.uk you can make it as many weeks as you want and start at the level of able to run 20 minutes or so. So get to 5k then ASAP start on a half marsthon plan and just accept you will have some bad and some good weeks, just keep plodding along and you will be fine.

It's also great for helping to tone your body.

Just don't be afraid, plod along at your own speed, and don't do things for others do it for yourself, I am so proud that I can run a bit now. It's a great feeling.
  • Good luck in your quest. I'd suggest couch to 5k to start and then re-assess.

Remember not to over do it too soon.
  • Lisa123Lisa123 ✭✭✭

Well done for signing up.

As others have said already do the couch to 5K and take it nice and easy.

• thanks all,seems all bit scary to be honest but there's no backing out now(and that's why I've done it) any more advice will be gratefully welcomed,also I'll keep you up datedimage